How i start – guide track fun!

from the recording revolution by Graham Cochrane I learned about recording a guide track as a way to start recording . Basically you need a recording of the whole song, giving you timing, chords and vocals that give you a basis to start recording individual tracks. Once you have the rhythm instruments tracked, you trash the guide track but up until then it guides you through the recording process. Now that I’m out of my studio I find recording a guide track much more fun. All I do is put my laptop or cell phone on the piano, get a click track running, plug in earphones and the built in microphone does the job. This way ten minutes are enough to kick off any recording. What I really like about this is the fact that it feels so natural. I simply perform the song I want to record. I will also try this with friends who want to help me record their material. They can record their own guide tracks without any fancy equipment. This doesn’t help me with mixing my unfinished projects but this way I can get some songs started that I’d like to finish in the next months.

Leave a Reply

